Our Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Finalist Dinner

February 27th, 2022, CFMC hosted a dinner to celebrate Lilly Endowment Finalists from Morgan County.  The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships are awarded to two high school seniors within Morgan County.  This scholarship is applied for and provided because of the generosity of the Lilly Endowment.

The 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for Morgan County seniors opened their applications on Tuesday, July 6, 2021, and had until Friday, August 8 to submit applications.  Applicants were required to be a current student within Morgan County or reside in the county and be graduating by June 30, 2022.  We are thankful for the assistance of our high school staff and guidance counselors who helped spread the word and assist students with their applications.

This year, CFMC received a total of 67 applications representing seniors from most high schools, including Tabernacle Christian School.  After a rigorous application and interview process, CFMC welcomed eight finalists for an in-person interview where finalists presented on what they are most passionate about and answered questions from the interview committee.

Our Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Finalist Dinner welcomed these eight finalists and their families for a celebratory dinner, graciously hosted at Brickhouse on Main in Martinsville.  This year’s Lilly Endowment finalists are Paydin Baker – MSD Martinsville High School, Holli Reuter – MSD Martinsville High School, Madi Varnell – Tabernacle Christian School, Jenna Everett – Monrovia High School, Ava Ash – Monrovia High School, Reilly Gaunt – MSD Martinsville High School, Sydney Schloemer – Monrovia High School, and Emily Crouch – Monrovia High School.

The Lilly Endowment Scholarship Program is designed to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana, increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations play in their communities and encourage efforts of Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with state leaders to improve quality of life in Indiana.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program is administered by the Independent Colleges of Indiana and includes significant participation by CFMC in Morgan County as well as Indiana’s other community foundations in our other 91 counties within the state of Indiana.  143 scholarships are awarded annually across the state of Indiana.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program provides full tuition, required fees and book stipends for four years to selected scholars attending any private, or public Indiana four-year college or university accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.  Applicants must pursue undergraduate study in a baccalaureate program on a full-time basis.

We are proud to celebrate these eight Morgan County finalists and announce that Emily Crouch and Sydney Schloemer, both from Monrovia High School are this year’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *