Celebrating 2023’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program Finalists Dinner

On February 7th, the Community Foundation of Morgan County (CFMC) hosted a dinner to celebrate the 2023 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship finalists from Morgan County.

Our guest speaker for the evening was a friend and servant to Morgan County, Volitta Fritsche.  She delivered a message to our finalists to take the risk as they step into their future.  Volitta shared a bit about historical risks that have been taken right here in our county, and how it benefited our economy and local residents.  She also shared a bit of her own personal history in becoming our county’s first female deputy and how taking the risk, herself, led to a rewarding career.  We are thankful for her leadership and the wonderful example she sets for young women as they pioneer their futures.

The scholarship will provide full tuition, required fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Endowment funded Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects scholars with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities.

The 2023 Morgan County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship application opened on Tuesday, July 5, 2022.  Seniors had until Friday, August 26 to submit their applications.  Applicants were required to be a current Morgan County student or reside in the county and be graduating by June 30, 2023.  We are thankful for the assistance of our high school staff and guidance counselors who helped share information about the scholarship opportunity and assist students with their applications.

This year, CFMC received a total of 68 applications representing seniors from most high schools, including Tabernacle Christian School.  After a rigorous application and interview process, CFMC welcomed eight finalists for an in-person interview where they presented on what they are most passionate about and answered questions from the interview committee.

Our Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Finalist Dinner welcomed these eight finalists and their families for a celebratory dinner, graciously hosted at Brickhouse on Main in Martinsville.  This year’s Lilly Endowment finalists are Marissa Rodriguez – Monrovia High School, Katherine Wymer – Mooresville High School , Morgan Harvey – Franklin Community High School (Morgan County resident), Amber Zupancic – Indian Creek High School (Morgan County resident), Breanna Mendenhall – Mooresville High School, Jada Kaufman – Monrovia High School , Hanna Leuck – Indian Creek High School (Morgan County resident) , and Nevaya Dickinson – Eminence High School.

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-1999 school year and has supported the program every year since with tuition grants totaling in excess of $439 million. More than 5,000 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program’s inception.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

We are proud to celebrate these eight Morgan County finalists and announce that Marissa Rodriguez and Katherine Wymer are this year’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

Congratulations to our finalists and scholars!


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *